Seminar Series

BottlesSeminars as part of five series,

  • the Microbiology Seminars Series (MBS, invited speakers),
  • the Work in Progress Series (WIP, graduate students and postdocs), or
  • the Student Literature Seminar Series (SLS/MICR830, graduate students),
  • the Faculty Seminar Series (FSS, Department Faculty).
  • the Noble P. Sherwood Seminar Series (NSS, invited speakers)

are presented at 11:00 a.m. in 1027 Orr-Major on Tuesdays and Thursdays, unless otherwise noted.

Non-department faculty interested in meeting the speakers should contact the host or the following individuals in charge of four series: MBS or NSS, Jeffrey Bose, Ph.D.; WIP, Mary Markiewicz, Ph.D.; SLS, Sebastien Pichoff, Ph.D.

If you would like to be added to our seminar mailing list, please contact Kathy Mackay

Date

Speaker and Topic

Host

Jan 16 (Tue)

Spring Classes Begin

 

Jan 18 (Thu)

Sherry Fleming, Ph.D., Professor, Division of Biology, Kansas State University

Mary Markiewicz

Jan 26 (Fri)

Susan Brock, Final Oral Defense

 

Feb 8 (Thu)

Maya Shmulevitz, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Dept of Medical Microbiology & Immunology, University of Alberta

Maria Kalamvoki

Feb 13 (Tue)

 

 

Feb 15 (Thu)

Sunhee Lee, Ph.D., Faculty Candidate, Research Assistant Professor, Dept of Molecular Genetics & Microbiology, Duke University School of Medicine

Ed Stephens

Feb 20 (Tue)

 

 

Feb 22 (Thu)

 

 

Feb 27 (Tue)

Kislay Parvatiyar, Ph.D., Faculty Candidate, Post-Doctoral Fellow, Dept of Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics, UCLA School of Medcine

Ed Stephens

Mar 1 (Thu)

Noble Sherwood Seminar Speaker, E. Peter Greenberg, Ph.D., Professor, Dept of Microbiology, University of Washington School of Medicine

Jeffrey Bose

Mar 6 (Tue)

Nanhai He, Ph.D., Faculty Candidate, Senior Research Associate, Gene Expression Laboratory, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies

Ed Stephens

Mar 8 (Thu)

Carlos Orihuela, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Dept of Microbiology, University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine

Jeffrey Bose

Mar 13 (Tue)

Chia-Wei Li, Ph.D., Faculty Candidate, Instructor, Dept of Molecular & Cellular Oncology, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Ed Stephens

Mar 15 (Thu)

M. Stephen Trent, Ph.D., UGA Foundation Distinguished Professor, Dept of Infectious Diseases, Univ. of Georgia

Jeffrey Bose

Mar 19-23

Spring Break Week

 

Mar 22 (Thu)

Noble Sherwood Seminar Speaker, Marvin Whiteley, Ph.D., Professor Biological Sciences, Georgia Tech Bennie H. & Nelson D. Bell Chair in Molecular and Cellular Biology, Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar Co-Director, Emory-Children’s CF Center

Indranil Biswas

Mar 27 (Tue)

Christos Dogrammatzis, Graduate Student

 

Mar 29 (Thu)

K. Gus Kousoulas, Ph.D., Associate Vice President for Research & Economic Development (STEM), Principal Investigator, Louisiana Biomedical Research Network (LBRN), Director, LSU-Tulane Center for Experimental Infectious Disease Research, Louisiana State University

Maria Kalamvoki

Apr 2-Apr 3

Student Research Forum

 

Apr 5 (Thu)

Michael Zhuo Wang, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Dept of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, University of Kansas

Michael Parmely

Apr 10 (Tue)

Miranda Pratt, Graduate Student

 

Apr 12 (Thu)

John Leong, M.D., Ph.D., Edith Rieva and Hyman S. Trilling Professor of Molecular Biology & Microbiology, Tufts University

Wolfram Zueckert

Apr 17 (Tue)

Hope Waisner, Graduate Student

 

Apr 19 (Thu)

Travis J. Bourret, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Dept of Microbiology & Immunology, Creighton University School of Medicine

Jeffrey Bose

Apr 24 (Tue)

Kelsey Krausz, Graduate Student

 

Apr 26 (Thu)

Noble Sherwood Seminar Speaker, Clodagh O’Shea, Associate Professor, Molecular & Cell Biology Laboratory, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Faculty Scholar, William Scandling Developmental Chair, Salk Institute for Biological Studies

Zachary DeMars

May 1 (Tue)

Zach DeMars, Graduate Student

 

May 3 (Thu)

Last Day of Classes

Billy Tsai, Ph.D., Corydon Ford Collegiate Professor, Dept of Cell & Developmental Biology, University of Michigan

Jianming Qiu

May 8 (Tue)

Sachith Polpitiyaarachchige, Graduate Student

 

May 15 (Tue)

Camille Trinidad, Graduate Student

 

May 17 (Thu)

Lyse A. Norian, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Dept of Nutrition Sciences, Comprehensive Cancer Center and Nutrition Obesity Research Center, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Mary Markiewicz

Last modified: Feb 13, 2018
ID=x2386