Seminar Series

BottlesSeminars as part of four series,

  • the Microbiology Seminars Series (MBS, invited speakers),
  • the Work in Progress Series (WIP, graduate students and postdocs), or
  • the Student Literature Seminar Series (SLS/MICR830, graduate students),
  • the Faculty Seminar Series (FSS, Department Faculty).

are presented at 11:00 a.m. in 1027 Orr-Major on Tuesdays and Thursdays, unless otherwise noted.

Non-department faculty interested in meeting the speakers should contact the host or the following individuals in charge of the three series: MBS, Maria Kalamvoki, Ph.D.; WIP, Mary Markiewicz, Ph.D.; SLS, Sebastien Pichoff, Ph.D.

If you would like to be added to our seminar mailing list, please contact Kathy Mackay

Date

Speaker and Topic

Host

Jan 17 (Tue)

Spring Classes Begin

 

Jan 19 (Thu)

Yoshiaki Azuma, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Dept of Molecular Biosciences, KU

Maria Kalamvoki

Jan 24 (Tue)

 

 

Jan 26 (Thu)

Randal Halfmann, Ph.D., Assistant Investigator, Stowers Institute, Assistant Professor, Molecular & Integrative Physiology, KUMC

Maria Kalamvoki

Jan 31 (Tue)

 

 

Feb 2 (Thu)

George C. Stewart, Ph.D., McKee Professor of Microbial Pathogenesis, Chair, Dept of Veterinary Pathobiology, University of Missouri, Columbia

Jeffrey Bose

Feb 7 (Tue)

 

 

Feb 9 (Thu)

Fatah Kashanchi, Ph.D., Director of Research, NCBID, School of Systems Biology, Professor, Laboratory of Molecular Virology, George Mason University

Maria Kalamvoki

Feb 14 (Tue)

 

 

Feb 16 (Thu)

 

 

Feb 21 (Tue)

 

 

Feb 23 (Thu)

Navneet Dhillon, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Dept of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, KUMC

Maria Kalamvoki

Feb 28 (Tue)

 

 

Mar 2 (Thu)

Giuseppe Caruso, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Researcher in Dr. Susan Lunte’s Lab, University of Kansas-Lawrence

Maria Kalamvoki

Mar 7 (Tue)

 

 

Mar 9 (Thu)

Philip Rather, Ph.D., Professor, Dept of Microbiology & Immunology, Emory University School of Medicine

Indranil Biswas

Mar 14 (Tue)

 

 

Mar 16 (Thu)

 

 

Mar 20-24

Spring Break Week

 

Mar 28 (Tue)

 

 

Mar 30 (Thu)

Mitchell F. Balish, Ph.D., Professor & Director of Graduate Studies, Chair, US Organization for Mycoplasmology, Dept of Microbiology, Miami University

Jeffrey Bose

Apr 4 (Tue)

 

 

Apr 5-Apr 7

Student Research Forum

 

Apr 11 (Tue)

Jianxin You, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Microbiology, Dept of Microbiology, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine

Jianming Qiu

Apr 13 (Thu)

David Meckes, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Dept of Biomedical Sciences, Florida State University College of Medicine

Maria Kalamvoki

Apr 18 (Tue)

Kelsey Krausz, Graduate Student

 

Apr 20 (Thu)

Vasily M. Studitsky, Ph.D., Professor, Cancer Epigenetics Program, Co-Chair, Fox Chase Cancer Center

Severin Gudima

Apr 25 (Tue)

Sachith Polpitiyaarachchige, Graduate Student

 

Apr 27 (Thu)

 

 

May 2 (Tue)

Lynn W. Enquist, Ph.D., Henry L. Hillman Professor in Molecular Biology and Professor, Princeton Neuroscience Institute, Princeton University

Maria Kalamvoki

May 4 (Thu)

Last Day of Classes

 

 

May 9 (Tue)

Hung Ton-That, Ph.D., Professor, Dept of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics, McGovern Medical School, The Univ. of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Indranil Biswas

May 11 (Thu)

 

 

May 16 (Tue)

 

 

May 18 (Thu)

Nancy C. Horton, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Dept of Chemistry & Biochemistry, University of Arizona

Jianming Qiu

Last modified: Jan 31, 2017
ID=x2386