Seminar Series

Seminars as part of four series,

  • the Microbiology Seminars Series (MBS, invited speakers),
  • the Research in Progress Series (RIP, graduate students and postdocs), or
  • the Student Literature Seminar Series (SLS/MICR830, graduate students),
  • the Faculty Seminar Series (FSS, Department Faculty).

are presented at 11:00 a.m. in 1027 Orr-Major on Tuesdays and Thursdays, unless otherwise noted.

Non-department faculty interested in meeting the speakers should contact the host or the following individuals in charge of the three series: MBS, Joe Lutkenhaus, Ph.D.; WIP, Mary Markiewicz, Ph.D.; SLS, Sebastien Pichoff, Ph.D.

If you would like to be added to our seminar mailing list, please contact Kathy Mackay

Date

Speaker and Topic

Host

Aug 25 (Mon)

Fall Classes Begin

 

Aug 26 (Tue)

Aug 28 (Thu)

 

 

Sept 1 (Mon)

Labor Day Holiday

Sept 2 (Tue)

 

Sept 4 (Thu)

 

 

Sept 9 (Tue)

Safder Saieed Fnu, Graduate Student

 

Sept 10 (Wed)

IGPBS/Microbiology Department Interaction Lunch & Poster Session

 

Sept 11 (Thu)

 

 

Sept 16 (Tue)

 

 

Sept 18 (Thu)

Noble Sherwood Seminar Speaker, Sean Whelan, Ph.D., Professor, Dept. of Microbiology & Immunobiology, Harvard Medical School

Tony Cheng

Sept 23 (Tue)

 

 

Sept 24 (Wed)

1014 Orr-Major

Tony Cheng, Final Oral Defense

 

Sept 25 (Thu)

 

 

Sept 30 (Tue)

Andrew Trembath, Graduate Student

 

Oct 2 (Thu)

 

 

Oct 7 (Tue)

Amara Seng, Graduate Student

 

Oct 9 (Thu)

Bala Chandran, M.Sc.(Med), Ph.D., Professor & Chair, Director, HM Bligh Cancer Research Laboratories, Dept of Microbiology & Immunology, Chicago Medical School, Rosalind Franklin Univ. of Medicine & Science

Joe Lutkenhaus

Oct 14 (Tue)

Catharine Bosio, Ph.D., Chief, Immunity to Pulmonary Pathogens Section, Laboratory of Intracellular Parasites, Rocky Mountain Laboratories, National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Diseases

Michael Parmely

Oct 16 (Thu)

Kelly Rice, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Dept of Microbiology & Cell Science, University of Florida

Jeffrey Bose

Oct 20 (Mon)

Inflammation & Immunity Module Starts

 

Oct 21 (Tue)

 

 

Oct 23 (Thu)

 

 

Oct 28 (Tue)

 

 

Oct 30 (Thu)

Faculty Research Day

 

Nov 3 (Mon)

Infectious Diseases Module Starts

 

Nov 4 (Tue)

 

 

Nov 6 (Thu)

Pamela Brown, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences, Univ. of Missouri - Columbia

Joe Lutkenhaus

Nov 11 (Tue)

Veterans Day Holiday

 

Nov 13 (Thu)

Chou-Zen Giam, Ph.D., Professor, Dept of Microbiology & Immunology, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Joe Lutkenhaus

Nov 14 (Fri)

1025 Orr-Major

Christine Jacobs-Wagner, Ph.D., Director of the Microbial Diversity Institute, Professor of Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology, Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Yale School of Medicine

Joe Lutkenhaus & Dept. of Biochemistry

Nov 18 (Tue)

 

 

Nov 20 (Thu)

Dale Abrahamson, Ph.D., University Distinguished Professor & Chair, Dept of Anatomy & Cell Biology, KUMC

Mary Markiewicz

Nov 21 (Fri)

Inflammation & Immunity Module Ends

 

Nov 25 (Tue)

 

 

Nov 27-28

Thanksgiving Holiday

 

Dec 2 (Tue)

 

 

Dec 4 (Thu)

Andrew Godwin, Ph.D., Professor & Director of Molecular Oncology, Dept of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, Univ. of Kansas Cancer Center

Joe Lutkenhaus

Dec 9 (Tue)

 

 

Dec 11 (Thu)

Last Day of Fall Classes

 

Dec 16 (Tue)

 

 

Dec 18 (Thu)

 

 

Last modified: Sep 05, 2014
ID=x2386