Skip to main content

Recent News

September 2018

New Grant Award:

Wolfram Zueckert, R21 AI139956 (Subaward with University of Kentucky), Post-Transcriptional Regulation in Borrelia Burgdorferi by the BpuR RNA-Binding Protein, 06/11/2018 – 05/31/2019

New Grant Award:

Indranil Biswas, R21 DE026937, Role of a nucleoid-associated protein (HLP) in virulence regulation in Streptococcus mutans, 09/01/2018 – 08/31/2020

April 2018

New Grant Award:
Dr. Jianming Qiu, "Human bocavirus 1 (HBoV1) capsid entry and intracellular trafficking of polarized human airway epithelium", R21, 05/11/2018 - 04/30/2020

Congratulations to Safder Ganaie for successfully defending his dissertation!

New Grant Award:
Dr. Thibaut Deschamps received a K-INBRE Postdoctoral Award for his project "Role of viral and non-viral miRNAs carried by extracellular vesicles released during HSV-1 infection", 5/1/2018 - 4/30/2019

January 2018

Congratulations to Dr. Jianming Qiu for his election to Fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology!

Congratulations to Graduate Student, Susan Brock, for successfully defending her dissertation!

Congratulations to Graduate Student, Jonathan Eusey, for successfully defending his thesis!

September 2017

New Grant Award:
Dr. Mary Markiewicz, V Foundation Grant, 10/01/2017 - 10/01/2019, The role of NKG2D-ligand interaction between NK cell immunotherapy.

August 2017

New Grant Award:
Drs. Indranil Biswas and Saswati Biswas were awarded an R01 entitled "Peptide Mediated Cell-Cell Communications in Streptococcus mutans"

Two recent publications from the Qiu lab in the same issue of the Journal of Virology were highlighted as articles of significant interest by the editors -

Welcome New Microbiology Graduate Students!
Vivek Gurung
Huan He
Miranda Pratt
Hope Waisner 

July 2017

New Grant Award:
Wolfram Zueckert, NIH R21 AI129522, Pathogenesis of Borrelia mayonii infection, 07/24/2017 - 06/30/2019, Subaward with University of Kentucky

An inaugural article from the Lutkenhaus lab was published in PNAS - 114: 7497-7504 (2017). The article is accompanied by a QnA session:

Congratulations to Graduate Student, Yaqiong Wang, for successfully defending her dissertation!

Congratulations to Dr. Wolfram Zückert for his promotion to Professor!

April 2017

Congratulations to Graduate Student, Alexander Dowdell, for successfully defending his dissertation!

New Grant Award:
Dr. Tom Yankee, KC Area Life Sciences Institute, Collaborate2Cure Research Development Award, Advancing a Novel Chimeric Antigen, Receptor Toward Canine Clinical Trials, 5/1/2017 - 6/30/2018

February 2017

A recent publication in the Journal of Bacteriology from the Bose lab on a fatty acid kinase from Staphylococcus aureus was selected as an article of significant interest by the editors-

January 2017

Tammy Kielian, a 1998 PhD recipient, was recently honored as UNMC's 11th Scientist Laureate, the highest research honor at the University of Nebraska Medical Center.

December 2016

Congratulations to Graduate Students, Josiah Cox and Kellyann Jones-Jamtgaard, for successfully defending their dissertations!

Congratulations to Kellyann Jones-Jamtgaard! She has been named a recipient of the Christine Mirzayan Science and Technology Policy Graduate Fellowship Program. She will be working for the Committee on Women in Science, Engineering and Medicine.

October 2016

Congratulations to Dr. Jianming Qiu for receiving a 2016 Faculty Research Investigator Award!

August 2016

Congratulations to Graduate Student, Weiran Shen, for successfully defending his dissertation!

Welcome New Microbiology Graduate Students!
Zachary DeMars
Christos Dogrammatzis
Wyatt Henke
Kelsey Krausz
Sachith Polpitiyaarachchige
Camille Trinidad

July 2016

Congratulations to Dr. Severin Gudima on his FY17 promotion to Associate Professor!

March 2016

Congratulations to Julie Mitchell for successfully defending her dissertation!

January 2016

New Microbiology Courses - Spring 2016
MICR 809: Tumor Immunology
MICR 826: Oncogenesis Associated with Viral Infections

August 2015

Welcome!! Dr. Maria Kalamvoki has accepted our invitation and has joined the Faculty of the Department as Assistant Professor.

Congratulations to Dr. Wolf Zueckert, Recipient of the 2015 Chancellor's Teaching Award

Congratulations Susan Brock, Shishen Du & Safder Saieed Fnu on receiving the Biomedical Research Training Program grant.

New Grant Awards:
Drs. Mary Markiewicz & Neekun Sharma have been selected as recipients of a 2015 American Association of Immunologists (AAI) Careers in Immunology Fellowship.

Dr. Jianming Qiu, NIH-R21, "Study of Human Bocavirus Gene Expression for Development of a Parvoviral Vector"

February 2015

Congratulations to the Gudima lab. Their article in the Journal of Virology titled "Super-infection with woodchuck hepatitis virus (WHV) strain WHVNY of the livers chronically infected with the strain WHV7" has been recommended by Faculty of 1000.

New Grant Awards:
Thomas Yankee, Braden's Hope/Children's Mercy Hospital, Novel chimeric antigen receptors to enhance T cell activation and differentiation.

August 2014

New Grant Awards:
Wolfram Zueckert, R21 Al113547, Functional Domains of Borrelia Burgdorferi Virulence Factor OspC

May 2014

Congratulations to Dr. Joe Lutkenhaus, University Distinguished Professor, who has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences!

Last modified: Mar 08, 2019