2018 Christopher Y. Thomas Lectureship

"Relationship between Critical Thinking and Whole-Brain Thinking, with Application to Teamwork, Communication and Dealing with Change"

Edward Lumsdaine, PhD
Friday, April 6, 2018, 7:45am - 9:00am
Attend in person: Crockett Conference Rm 1st Floor Neuro Institute, Saint Luke's Hospital
Watch live webinar: https://slhs200.webex.com/meet/ThomasLecture

Critical thinking is made up of distinct phases or mindsets. Mainly, it has been taught at the college level in subject-specific contexts, which makes application to life problems and situations non-obvious. Critical thinking can encompass the following aspects: (1) examining assumptions and biases: (2) discovery; (3) alternatives or inventions as well as idea synthesis; (4) ultimately resulting in a product or generalized solution. Other steps are labeled as (a) questioning or problem definition or hypothesis; (b) logical analysis; (c) evaluation of the information obtained-- which can include media or web-based sources; (d) judgement, resulting in an ability to achieve "best decisions. The descriptive steps do not make reference to specific thinking skills based on current knowledge of the physical brain.

Therefore, a whole-brain thinking model will be presented (based on the four-quadrant Herrmann brain dominance model). This knowledge will enable the critical thinker to cycle through the different brain quadrants in the most effective way for optimum results. Case studies as applied to teamwork, communications and dealing with change will be demonstrated, to illustrate how this understanding can enhance personal growth as well as workplace productivity and cultural improvement in the public sphere to guide future development and direction -- skills that are key for living in our complex, changing and increasingly unpredictable world.

Dr. Lumsdaine

Dr. Edward Lumsdaine is Emeritus Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Michigan Technological University and served as Special Professor of Business, Institute for Enterprise and Innovation, University of Nottingham (England). He has served as dean of engineering and professor at six different universities in the U.S. and four different universities abroad. His engineering specialties are in aero-acoustics, vibrations, heat transfer, fluid mechanics, and solar energy. He has published over 100 papers in these fields. For the past twenty years he has focused on introducing creative problem solving and whole brain thinking into engineering curriculum, using the Herrmann Brain Dominance Instrument (HBDI) as a basis for his creative problem solving model and forming project teams. He and his wife (now retired) have been recognized by Herrmann International as HBDI practitioners. They have taught workshops in public and private universities (faculty, administrators and staff), a hospital, at TACOM, and in many automotive companies and suppliers. Click here for extended bio.


Dr. Thomas

The Christopher Y. Thomas Lectureship was established in honor of Dr. Chris Thomas and serves to permanently honor the 40 years of contributions he has made to Saint Luke's and to medical education. The fund, managed at Saint Luke's Foundation, sponsors an annual program wherein a nationally prominent speaker is invited to visit Kansas City to meet with faculty and residents at KUMC, UMKC, and Saint Luke's, and to deliver the annual Dr. Christopher Y. Thomas Lecture.

Last modified: Mar 30, 2018