Honors and Awards

The KU School of Medicine honors faculty members for excellence in teaching, research, mentoring and lifetime achievements. For specific criteria/eligibility, nomination materials required, selection, prize and presentation information, along with the list of past recipients, click under the name of the award below.


  • Ruth Bohan Teaching Professorship is the School of Medicine's highest recognition for teaching. Details | Recipients
  • Chancellor's Awards for Outstanding Classroom Teaching is a one-time award bestowed for outstanding teaching abilities as acknowledged by students and colleagues. Details | Recipients 
  • William T. Kemper Awards: recognize outstanding KU teachers and advisers. Details | Recipients


The medical student body bestows annual awards for outstanding teaching in courses and clerkships.

First-year medical students bestow three awards:

  • Outstanding Small Group Leader Award
  • Outstanding First Year Course/Teaching
  • Overall Best Course

Second-year medical students bestow three awards:

  • Outstanding Small Group Leader Award
  • Outstanding First Year Course/Teaching
  • Overall Best Course

Third-year medical students bestow one award for Outstanding Third-Year Clerkship and present one award each to an attending and a resident in the areas of:

  • Ambulatory Medicine
  • Family Practice
  • Internal Medicine
  • OB/GYN
  • Pediatrics
  • Neurology
  • Psychiatry
  • Surgery
  • Geriatrics


  • Chancellors Club Research Award honors a KUMC researcher whose work has led to significant scientific discoveries and long-term impact on research, which has national or international interest.
  • Faculty Research Investigator Award honors investigators who have evidence of significant research accomplishments and a high potential for future sustained productive research.
  • Higuchi-Endowment Association Research Achievement Awards were established in 1981 by Takeru Higuchi, a KU Distinguished professor of Chemistry and Pharmacy and chair of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, and his wife, Aya. The awards are named for former officers of the KU Endowment Association who were instrumental in bringing Higuchi to KU and who worked to further the university's overall research program: Details | Recipients
    • Dolph Simons Award, Biomedical recognizes research achievement of national or international interest in the biomedical sciences that has had a major and substantial impact.
    • Irvin Youngberg Award, Applied Sciences recognizes research achievements in the applied sciences that have had a substantial impact and have been significant to the state of Kansas.


  • School of Medicine Executive Dean's Distinguished Mentoring Awards recognize mentors who demonstrate a responsibility to faculty development and who exemplify a deep commitment to fostering the professional growth of our junior faculty members.

  • Rainbow Award honors "heroes in medicine" - those physicians and community preceptors who students feel exemplify the attributes of professionalism in medicine and share those qualities with the students who they mentor. Details | Recipients


  • School of Medicine Glendon G. Cox Leadership Award (sponsored by ING) recognizes sustained leadership and excellence in service to the University of Kansas, the Schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Health Professions, and the Medical Center. Details | Recipients
  • WIMS Marjorie S. Sirridge MD Excellence in Medicine & Science Award honors women faculty members who are successful leaders, role models, mentors and demonstrate excellence in clinical or basic sciences and are involved in Women In Medicine and Science programs. Details
  • Amy O'Brien-Ladner MD Innovation Award honors the initiative put forth by women faculty and staff members in the KU School of Medicine, School of Nursing, and the School of Health Professions which have influenced a positive cultural change regarding the careers of women faculty and/or staff members on the KUMC campus. Details


  • Emeritus Professorship honors faculty members who have held full professorial rank for at least 10 years and have demonstrated distinguished service. Details
  • University Distinguished Professors represents the highest honor the University of Kansas can bestow on its faculty and recognizes those making outstanding contributions to teaching, research and service to their professions and communities. Details 
  • The Honorary Alumnus Awards honor non-graduates of the School of Medicine who have made a significant impact to the school, the medical center or to health education. Details | Recipients
Last modified: Jan 22, 2016