Executive Committee

2013-14 Meeting Dates:
September 10, 2013
October 30, 2013
December 11, 2013
February 19, 2014
April 23, 2014

Contact Laura Jennemann with questions or email Faculty Council.

The Executive Committee conducts the day to day business of the faculty.


  • Departmental chairs (3 Kansas City, 1 Wichita)
  • Leaders of the Faculty Council (chair, chair-elect, vice chair & vice chair elect)
  • Chairs of standing committees
  • The four elected members-at-large of the Faculty Council
  • Executive Dean (ex officio)
  • Dean of the Wichita Campus (ex officio)
  • Director of the Salina Campus (ex officio)


The broad scope of the Executive Committee includes:

  • Serve through the Executive Dean as liaison between the faculty and the administration of the Medical Center;
  • Be responsible for overseeing the implementation of recommendations of the Faculty Council;
  • Present recommendations of the Executive Committee to the Faculty Council for action;
  • Distribute minutes of the Executive Committee to the Faculty Council in a timely fashion;
  • Advise the Executive Dean on matters concerning the welfare and function of the School of Medicine;
  • Receive and consider reports of the Standing Committees;
  • Recommend to the Executive Dean names of faculty members and qualified individuals from outside the University who might serve on search committees or on ad hoc committees;
  • Participate in the selection of the Executive Dean in accordance with the Handbook for Faculty and Other Unclassified Staff;
  • Receive from the Executive Dean the report of the review of each academic department (including a summary of the recommendations and actions taken) which shall be done at least every five years; and
  • Call meetings of the Faculty Council.

The Executive Committee meets every other month. The agenda is prepared by Executive Dean in consultation with Chair of Faculty Council. Ten voting members are required for a quorum.

Committee Members 2013-14

Member's Name Member's Role term ends
Doug Girod, MD          Executive Committee Chair
Garold Minns, MD Dean SOM Wichita Campus
William Cathcart-Rake, MD Director, Salina
Isaac Opole, MD, PhD              Faculty Council Chair 08/31/14
Tracie Collins, MD, MPH Faculty Council Vice-Chair 08/31/14
Michael Parmely, PhD KC BS Chair Representative 08/31/16
Chet Johnson, MD KC CS Chair Representative 08/31/14
Philip Johnson, MD KC CS Chair Representative 08/31/15
Jon Schrage, MD Wichita Chair Representative 08/31/14
Justin Moore, MD At-Large Member (Wichita) 08/31/16
Joseph Fontes, PhD At-Large Member (BS) 08/31/14
Thomas Yankee, PhD At-Large Member (BS)  08/31/14
David Naylor, MD At-Large Member (CS) 08/31/15
Belinda Vail, MD Chair, Academic Committee 08/31/14
David Becker, MD Chair, Election Committee 08/31/14
Wolf Zueckert, PhD Chair, Education Council 08/31/14
Russ Swerdlow, PhD Chair, SOM Research Committee 08/31/14
Kim Templeton, MD Chair, KC APT Committee 08/31/14
Donna Sweet, MD Chair, Wichita APT Committee 08/31/14


School of Medicine Executive Committee of the Faculty Council Agendas and Minutes




For Additional Information:
Laura Jennemann

Faculty Affairs and Faculty Development

For more detailed information regarding the Executive Committee, view the Bylaws (page 22).

This page last updated November 2013.

Last modified: Dec 20, 2013