School of Medicine Faculty Governance

The faculty members of the University of Kansas School of Medicine have certain responsibilities and privileges that operate through the system known as faculty governance. This organizational framework manages the business of the faculty and enables faculty members to participate in developing and implementing the policies and procedures of the School of Medicine.

The philosophy and regulations on which faculty governance is based are described in the University of Kansas School of Medicine Faculty Bylaws - (amended March 2013). View PDF of Bylaws. The School has a collaborative governance structure, designed to promote partnership ("cooperative and interdependent activities") between the faculty and the administration in conducting the business of the School.

"The success of this partnership hinges directly upon open communications between all participants since the free exchange of knowledge, experience, hopes, history and plans form the matrix upon which effective governance is based1".

Faculty governance takes place through a system of committees and councils that attempt to balance inclusiveness with the need to conduct business in a timely manner. All members of the faculty are encouraged to contribute to faculty governance and most meetings are open to all faculty members. The right to vote is generally restricted to faculty members with appointments of at least 50 percent time. Committee membership is also generally reserved for faculty members with at least 50 percent time appointments. Some committees or councils have additional specific criteria for membership.

The School of Medicine has over 900 full-time and 2000 part-time and volunteer faculty members. The chart below illustrates the faculty governance system that enables individuals and groups to participate in the key functions of the School. For additional information on each council or committee, click on the appropriate link listed on the left-hand side of the page.


1Bylaws of the medical faculty of the University of Kansas School of Medicine 2013.

This page last updated August 2013.

Last modified: Jun 23, 2014