Joy McCann Professorship for Women in Medicine


In 2002 the School of Medicine's Women in Medicine and Science (WIMS) Program received an endowment from Joy McCann Culverhouse and Robert Daugherty, MD through the Joy McCann Foundation to establish a Joy McCann Professorship. The professorship is awarded to a female faculty member who have demonstrated leadership and mentoring of students, residents and fellow faculty members.

Mary Zimmerman

Mary K. Zimmerman, PhD
2013-2016 Joy McCann Professor in Medicine and Science
Professor of Health Policy and Management, and PhD Program Director

Main Phone: (913) 588-2688

Dr. Mary Zimmerman was named the newest recipient of the University of Kansas Joy McCann Professorship for Women in Medicine by Doug Girod, MD, Executive Vice Chancellor, KU Medical Center and Acting Executive Dean, KU School of Medicine. Dr. Zimmerman's term will run July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2016. Dr. Zimmerman is one of four women in the United States who hold the honor of being a Joy McCann Professor in Women in Medicine.

Dr. Zimmerman's vision for the McCann professorship is to inspire, advance, and highlight the careers of women faculty at KUMC. McCann visiting speakers will be drawn from distinguished scholars in clinical medicine, basic science and public health related research.  Dr. Zimmerman aims to explore additional resources and ideas for professional development for WIMS by utilizing a national network of scholars examining gender and strategies for the advancement of women scientists in higher education and academic medicine.  

Professorship Annual Programs or Projects

The Joy McCann Visiting Professor Lecture Series  Learn more HERE

Professorship Information and Responsibilities

Eligibility, Nomination and Selection Process

Previous University of Kansas Joy McCann Professors

Kim Templeton 2003 - 2006
Kimberly Templeton, MD, Associate Professor
Y Wan
2007 - 2010
Yu-Jui Yvonne Wan, Ph.D. Professor
S Pingleton
2010 - 2013
Susan K. Pingleton, MD, FACP, Master Fellow, ACCP


For questions about the Joy McCann Professorship please contact Krista Wimberly, Assistant Director for Faculty Affairs and Development.

Last modified: Apr 01, 2016
Joy McCann Professorship

The McCann Professorship promotes and collaborates with the Women in Medicine & Science Program.

Women in Medicine & Science