On this page:

Scholarships offered by KU for current students

Opportunities for students in health care fields


Some programs in the KU School of Health Professions also offer unique scholarship opportunities to students in their specific fields.

The School's diversity committee provides helpful resources and scholarship opportunities outside KU, organized by specific background or ethnicity.

Additional assistance is available from the KU Medical Center Student Services office.

Scholarships Offered by the University of Kansas
for Current Students

The following scholarships are ahevailable only to current students in the School of Health Professions. Please contact the student affairs coordinator (913) 588-5275 for additional information or questions concerning these awards.

Dean’s Diversity Scholarship

The Dean’s Diversity Scholarship is presented to a full-time student who meets minimum grade point average and other requirements, and best exemplifies qualities of success.

To qualify for this award, students must meet two of the following:

  • Significant life experiences in rural, inner city, or diverse cultural communities
  • Bilingual or multilingual abilities
  • Success in overcoming financial, social, family, physical or educational hardships
  • Success in overcoming adversity due to societal biases
  • Demonstrated experience as a successful leader or role-model within multicultural groups
  • Demonstrated commitment to underserved populations
  • Evidence of a significant contribution to an established diversity initiative, including program development, training, or advocacy

Students receive information and application forms for this scholarship via broadcast e-mail during spring semester. The school's diversity committee reviews applications to make decisions on awards, which are then granted for fall semester. Three scholarships will be awarded.

Dean's Scholarship
The Dean's Scholarship is given to meritoriously award full-time students within the KU School of Health Professions who have demonstrated excellence in scholastic accomplishments, professional leadership and commitment to community service as evidenced by achievements while in their program of study. This is not a self-nominating scholarship for students. In the spring or summer of each year, each department will nominate one student for a Dean's Scholarship to be awarded in the following fall and spring semesters. A student is eligible to be nominated if he/she has a 3.5 or greater cumulative GPA. See full criteria and instructions in the application form, distributed via broadcast message to department chairs.

Forever Friends Diana Lain Hughes Scholarship Fund [request application]
The Forever Friends Diana Lain Hughes Fund provides an award of up to $2000 to a student who graduated from the Shawnee Mission School District and is currently in the last year of their graduate degree program in Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy or Speech-Language Pathology at KU. Eligible students must demonstrate financial need, and must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5 in their program.

James P. Cooney Leadership Award
This award was initiated in 1992 by the University of Kansas Health Professions Alumni Association to recognize the contributions of James P. Cooney, PhD, (Dean, 1985-1991) to the advancement of the School of Health Professions. A cash award of $400 will be presented at the Recognition Ceremony in May to a student demonstrating outstanding leadership and contributions to the profession, community, program and the University of Kansas School of Health Professions. Nominees must be a graduating student or a graduate who met the graduation requirements of the previous year from the University of Kansas School of Health Professions. This award is not self-nominating; faculty of the school provide nominees.

KU Medical Center Auxiliary Scholarships
The University of Kansas Medical Center Auxiliary, Inc. generously sponsors awards open to undergraduate and graduate students with at least one year remaining in their program. Formerly known as the the Louise De Schweinitz Darrow Awards, these are provided in recognition of demonstrated excellence in scholastic achievement, leadership potential and social consciousness, as evidenced by achievements while in the KU School of Health Professions. Nominations are evaluated and scored by the School's professional development committee.

Leagacy Award, Midwest Association of Allied Health Deans of Academic Health Centers
This scholarship program was established to honor the legacies of current and former deans and directors of the Midwest Association of Allied Health Deans of Academic Health Centers. Students with at least one term or semester remaining in their professional area of study are eligible. Candidates are evaluated on professional and interpersonal qualities indicating they are likely to establish their own legacies of excellence in service, teaching, and/or research in the allied health professions. This is not a self-nominating scholarship.

Student Clinical Excellence Award
The purpose of this award is to recognize an outstanding School of Health Professions student for their clinical expertise. The student is acknowledged for providing excellence in patient care and demonstrating leadership in advancing clinical practice. Applicant must be a student in one of allied health disciplines at the University of Kansas, must have practiced in a clinical capacity (clinical practicum, field work, internship, externship or independent practice) at the time the application is submitted and possess a minimum GPA of 3.5.

The School of Health Professions Student Clinical Excellence Award is given annually if the SHP Faculty Clinical Practice Committee deems appropriate. Students may self-nominate for this award, and are encouraged to do so. Scholarship applications are due April 1st. * Note: this award is not currently available. The application form PDF document is provided for informational purposes only.

Student Senate Scholarship 
The School of Health Professions student senate often awards scholarships, dependent upon available resources in any given year. When offered, all full-time SHP students are eligible for these scholarships based upon academic involvement and achievement, and community service. The SHP Student Senate will notify students when awards are available for application.

Scholarship Opportunities for Students in Health Care Fields

ASAHP Scholarship for Excellence [info PDF document]
The Association of Schools of Allied Health Professions sponsors a scholarship program for students enrolled in its member schools, including the KU School of Health Professions. The purpose of the scholarship program is to recognize outstanding students in the health professions who are achieving excellence in their academic programs and have significant potential to assume future leadership roles in these professions.

Lawrence Memorial Hospital Scholarship
A KU School of Health Professions student with permanent residence in Douglas County, Kan., is eligible for recognition by Lawrence Memorial Hospital. Criteria for this scholarship include a strong academic record and leadership potential. Financial need may be considered. (This scholarship is awarded to the School of Health Professions and the School of Nursing on an alternating basis; students of the School of Health Professions are eligible in the fall of odd-numbered years.) / ASHPP Scholarship Fund
The Assocation of Schools of Allied Health Professions has a partnership with in which a $1500 scholarship is awarded every 60 days to a deserving student. Visit for details.

KU Medical Center
The KU Medical Center Student Financial Aid Office has compiled a large list of scholarship opportunities available around the country specifically for students wishing to pursue a career in health professions.

Last modified: Oct 07, 2015