Skip to main content

Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine Leadership


Principal Investigators

Dr. GodwinAndrew Godwin, Ph.D.
Chancellors Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Sciences Endowed Professor
Professor and Director, Molecular Oncology, University of Kansas Medical Center
Division Director of Genomic Diagnostics, Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, The University of Kansas Medical Center
Deputy Director, The University of Kansas Cancer Center
Director, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE
Director, Biospecimen Shared Resource
Kansas Bioscience Authority Eminent Scholar
Email: agodwin@kumc.edu
Assistant: Cassaundra Shipman, cshipman2@kumc.edu


Dr. Soper

Steven A. Soper, Ph.D.
Foundation Distinguished Professor
Department of Chemistry
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Director, Center of BioModular Multiscale Systems for Precision Medicine, University of Kansas
Director, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE
Associate Editor, Analyst
Adjunct Professor, Ulsan National Institute of Science & Technology
William H. Pryor Emeritus Chair of Chemistry (LSU)
Chief Science Officer, BioFluidica, Inc.
Chief Science Officer, Digital NanoGenetics, LLC
Email: ssoper@ku.edu
Assistant: Lindsey Roe, lindseyp@ku.edu


Alan Yu

Alan Yu, MB, BChir
Harry Statland and Solon Summerfield Professor of Medicine
Director, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension and The Kidney Institute
Director, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE
University of Kansas Medical Center
Email: ayu@kumc.edu
Assistant: Megan Crenshaw, mcrenshaw2@kumc.edu


Junior Faculty

Leonidas BantisLeonidas Bantis, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Biostatistics and Data Science, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Junior Faculty, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE
Member, The University of Kansas Cancer Center
Email: lbantis@kumc.edu


Shellie EllisShellie D. Ellis, M.A., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Population Health
University of Kansas School of Medicine
Junior Faculty, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE
NCI/Academy Health Visiting Scholar
National Cancer Institute
Email: sellis4@kumc.edu


Ryan FunkRyan S. Funk, PharmD, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice, University of Kansas
Junior Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacology, Toxicology & Therapeutics, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Junior Faculty, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE
Email: ryanfunk@kumc.edu


Gregory Gan

Gregory N. Gan, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology and Department of Cancer Biology,  University of Kansas School of Medicine
Director of Technology and Oligometastasis Program
Junior Faculty, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE
Professor, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Email: ggan@kumc.edu
Assistant: Kija Cunningham- kcunningham7@kumc.edu


Deepika PolineniDeepika Polineni, M.D., MPH
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine, Division of Pulmonary Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Junior Faculty, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE
Email: dpolineni@kumc.edu


PACE

Cheryl JerniganCheryl L. Jernigan, CPA, FACHE (PACE)
Survivor of Breast Cancer, co-Survivor of HPV Tonsil Cancer & Metastatic Prostate Cancer
Lead Patient Advocate & Co-Leader, Patient and Community Engagement, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE
Lead Patient Advocate, Patient & Investigator Voices Organizing Together, The University of Kansas Cancer Center
Lead Patient Advocate, Greater Plains Collaborative, University of Kansas Medical Center
Lead Patient Advocate and Co-Leader, Patient Partners group, Frontiers: University of Kansas Clinical and Translational Science Institute
Email: callcjjj@gmail.com


Kim KimminauKim S. Kimminau, Ph.D. (PACE)
Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine, University of Kansas Medical Center
Associate Director, Frontiers: University of Kansas Clinical and Translational Science Institute
Co-Leader, Patient and Community Engagement Core, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE
Email: akkimminau@kumc.edu


Cores

Dr. GodwinAndrew Godwin, Ph.D.
Chancellors Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Sciences Endowed Professor
Professor and Director, Molecular Oncology, University of Kansas Medical Center
Division Director of Genomic Diagnostics, Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, The University of Kansas Medical Center
Deputy Director, The University of Kansas Cancer Center
Director, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE
Director, Biospecimen Shared Resource
Kansas Bioscience Authority Eminent Scholar
Email: agodwin@kumc.edu
Assistant: Cassaundra Shipman, cshipman2@kumc.edu


Harsh PathakHarsh Pathak, Ph.D. (BBV Core)
Research Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
Director, Biomarker Discovery Lab
Co-Director, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE BBV Core
Email: hpathak@kumc.edu


Steven HyterSteven Hyter, Ph.D. (BBV Core)
Clinical Assistant Professor and Assistant Director, Clinical Molecular Oncology Laboratory, Department of Pathology and Laboratory MedicineCo-Director, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE BBV Core
Email: shyter@kumc.edu


Devin KoestlerDevin Koestler, Ph.D. (QOC)
Associate Professor of Biostatistics and Data Science, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Director, Quantitative Omics Core, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE
Director (KUMC-site), Biostatistics and Informatics Shared Resource, The University of Kansas Cancer Center
Email: skoestler@kumc.edu


Jeffrey ThompsonJeffrey A. Thompson, Ph.D. (QOC)
Assistant Professor, Department of Biostatistics & Data Science, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Associate Director, Quantitative Omics Core, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE
Co-Director, Curated Cancer Clinical Outcomes Database, The University of Kansas Cancer Center
Email: jthompson21@kumc.edu


Dr. Soper

Steven A. Soper, Ph.D. (BME)
Foundation Distinguished Professor
Department of Chemistry
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Director, Center of BioModular Multiscale Systems for Precision Medicine, University of Kansas
Director, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine COBRE
Associate Editor, Analyst
Adjunct Professor, Ulsan National Institute of Science & Technology
William H. Pryor Emeritus Chair of Chemistry (LSU)
Chief Science Officer, BioFluidica, Inc.
Chief Science Officer, Digital NanoGenetics, LLC
Email: ssoper@ku.edu
Assistant: Lindsey Roe - lindseyp@ku.edu


Maggie WitekMalgorzata (Maggie) A. Witek, Ph.D. (BME)
Associate Research Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Kansas
Associate Research Professor, Kansas Institute for Precision Medicine, COBRE
Director, Training and Dissemination program, Center of BioModular Multiscale Systems for Precision Medicine
Adjunct Assistant Research Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering, The University of North Carolina
Email: mwitek@ku.edu
Assistant: Melissa Robinso-Winemiller - mrbobinson-winemiller@kumc.edu


Pilot Projects

Fariba BehbodFariba Behbod, PharmD, PhD
Professor, Division of Cancer and Developmental Biology, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, University of Kansas School of Medicine
E-mail: fbehbod@kumc.edu


Shane SteckleinShane Stecklein, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Radiation Oncology (Primary)
Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine and Department of Cancer Biology (Secondary)
E-mail: sstecklein@kumc.edu


Supplements

Jill MorrisJill Morris, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Email: jmorris@kumc.edu


Mentors

Francisco DiazFrancisco J. Diaz, Ph.D. (Mentor to Dr. Bantis)
Associate Professor, Department of Biostatistics & Data Science, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Email: fdiaz@kumc.edu


Liskin Swint-KruseLiskin Swint-Kruse, Ph.D. (Mentor to Dr. Bantis)
Professor and Chair, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Email: lswint-kruse@kumc.edu
Assistant: Catherine Kinsey, ckinsey@kumc.edu


Ed EllerbeckEdward Ellerbeck, M.D., MPH (Mentor to Dr. Ellis)
Chair, Department of Population Health, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Email: eellerbe@kumc.edu
Assistant: Marilyn Painter, mpainter@kumc.edu


Elizabeth Wulff-BurchfieldElizabeth Wulff-Burchfield, M.D. (Mentor to Dr. Ellis)
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine, Divisions of Medical Oncology and Palliative Medicine, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Email: ewulffburchfield@kumc.edu
Assistant: Cheryl Jacobsen, cjacobsen@kumc.edu


Mara BeckerMara L. Becker, M.D., MSCE, (Mentor to Dr. Funk)
Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Duke University School of Medicine
Email: mara.becker@duke.edu


Teruna SiahaanTeruna J. Siahaan, Ph.D. (Mentor to Dr. Funk)
Aya & Takeru Higuschi Distinguished Professor
Associate Chair, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Director, Center for Global Health & Research, University of Knasas School of Pharmacy
Email: siahaan@ku.edu


Dr. BarandaJoaquina C. Baranda, M.D. (Mentor to Dr. Gan)
Professor of Internal Medicine, Division of Medical Oncology, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Medical Director, Early Phase Program
Email: Jbaranda@kumc.edu
Assistant: Kelly Vandiver, kvandiver@kumc.edu


Sufi ThomasSufi Thomas, Ph.D. (Mentor to Dr. Gan)
Associate Professor, Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Cancer Biology Program Co-Leader, The University of Kansas Cancer Center
Email: sthomas7@kumc.edu
Assistant: Jaci Blancarte, jbossow@kumc.edu


Navneet DhillonNavneet Dhillon, Ph.D. (Mentor to Dr. Polineni)
Professor of Internal Medicine, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Email: ndhillon@kumc.edu


Matthias SalatheMatthias Salathe, M.D. (Mentor to Dr. Polineni)
Peter T. Bohan Professor and Chair, Department of Internal Medicine
Associate Director, Adult Cystic Fibrosis Center, The University of Kansas Health System
Email: msalathe@kumc.edu


Steven WeinmanSteven A. Weinman, M.D., Ph.D. (Mentor to Dr. Polineni)
Professor and Vice Chair for Research, Department of Internal Medicine, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Director, Liver Center
Email: sweinman@kumc.edu
Assistant: Erin Dunn, edunn@kumc.edu


Internal Advisory Board

Dale AbrahamsonDale R. Abrahamson, Ph.D.
University Distinguished Professor
Chair, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Director, Molecular Regulation of Cell Development and Differentiation Phase III COBRE
Email: dabrahamson@kumc.edu


Mario CastroMario Castro, M.D., M.P.H.
Professor of Medicine
Chief, Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
Vice Chair for Clinical and Translational Research
Director, Frontiers: Univ Kansas Clinical & Translational Science Institute
Director, Rainbow Clinical Trials Science Unit
Email: mcastro2@kumc.edu


Dianne Durham, Ph.D.Dianne Durham, Ph.D.
Professor, Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Senior Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs and Development
University of Kansas School of Medicine
Email: ddurham@kumc.edu


Ed EllerbeckEdward Ellerbeck, M.D., MPH (Mentor to Dr. Ellis)
Chair, Department of Population Health, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Email: eellerbe@kumc.edu
Assistant: Marilyn Painter, mpainter@kumc.edu


Hartmut JaeschkeHartmut Jaeschke, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology, Toxicology & Therapeutics, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Email: hjaeschke@kumc.edu


Roy JensenRoy Jensen, M.D.
Director, The University of Kansas Cancer Center
William R. Jewell, MD Distinguished Kansas Masonic Professor
Professor, Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, University of Kansas School of Medicine
CEO, Midwest Cancer Alliance
Email: rjensen@kumc.edu
Assistant: Marilyn Nielsen, mnielsen3@kumc.edu


Peter Smith

Peter G. Smith, PhD
Senior Associate Dean for Research, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Wineinger, Endowed Professor, Department of Molecular and Integrative Physiology
Co-Director, Kansas Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Research Center
Email: psmith@kumc.edu
Assistant: Tina Darrow, tdarrow@kumc.edu


Steven WeinmanSteven A. Weinman, M.D., Ph.D. (Mentor to Dr. Polineni)
Professor and Vice Chair for Research, Department of Internal Medicine
Director, Liver Center
Email: sweinman@kumc.edu
Assistant: Erin Dunn, edunn@kumc.edu

Last modified: Nov 19, 2020
ID=x35790