Two School of Medicine students receive Minority Scholars Awards from the American Medical Association

June 28, 2017

By Greg Peters

Two students in the School of Medicine at the University of Kansas were recently honored as Minority Scholars Award winners by the American Medical Association Foundation.

Vanessa Armendariz and Matthew Moreno were honored June 9, 2017, during the AMA Foundation Excellence in Medicine Awards program at the AMA Annual Meeting in Chicago. Armendariz received the 2017 Excellence in Medicine Minority Scholars Award along with the 2017 National Business Group on Health Ronald Davis, M.D., Memorial Scholarship. Moreno received the 2017 Excellence in Medicine Minority Scholars Award.

Armendariz is a first-year medical student who enjoys working with youth and underserved communities while confronting disparities in health care. Armendariz is one of the directors of the student-run BullDoc health clinic at a local high school, and she is a member of the Latino Medical Student Association and the Student National Medical Association.  

Moreno is a third-year student, whose interests include research on health disparities and cardiovascular health. While a student in the School of Medicine, Moreno has investigated the role health disparities play in the Latino and African-American communities. He volunteers frequently at the student-run JayDoc Free Clinic and hopes to continue doing research and inspiring others to empower vulnerable populations.

The AMA Foundation's Excellence in Medicine Awards program recognizes physicians who exemplify the highest values of volunteerism, community engagement, leadership and dedication to caring for underserved populations. The Minority Scholars Award program encourages diversity in medicine, while acknowledging a commitment to academic achievement, leadership and community involvement, and the elimination of health care disparities. The National Business Group on Health provides one scholarship each year to a minority medical student interested in primary care. The scholarship honors Davis, who is a past president of the AMA.

Last modified: Jun 19, 2018