Skip to main content

KU Medical Center News

News Listing Page > 2018 Student Leadership Awards

Students, faculty and campus organizations honored at 20th Annual Student Leadership Reception

March 29, 2018

By Greg Peters

2018 Award Winners
Award winners, left to right: Hebron Kelecha, Jeffrey John Javier, Vusala Snyder; Ryan Gove and Nancy Delgado.

Students, faculty and campus organizations were honored during the 20th Annual Student Leadership Awards Reception March 28 at the University of Kansas Medical Center.

Jeffrey John Javier, a senior in the School of Nursing, earned the Dorothy Knoll Outstanding Leader Award. Javier was chosen from a field of 10 finalists for the award, which is given annually in the name of Knoll, who was the first dean of students at KU Medical Center. The recipient is chosen for exceptional leadership skills, community involvement and the ability to interact with a variety of students and organizations.

"It was an honor just to be nominated," said Javier, who is the first nursing student to receive the award. "I was in pure shock. Truthfully, it was rewarding and a lot of emotions were running through my mind."

Javier has accepted a job with The University of Kansas Health System and has been admitted into the graduate program in the School of Nursing. He is a leader both within the KU School of Nursing and the KU Medical Center campus. Among his many activities, Javier has been involved in the Association of Undergraduate Student Nurses, Kansas University student Nurses' Association, the Student Governing Council, and he serves as a nursing school student ambassador and as a mentor for first-year students in the School of Nursing.

Other finalists for the Outstanding Leader Award include Abdulfattah Alqahtani, Mohammed Alsheri, Eber Beck Jr., Heide Chaney, Coulter Cranston, Susan Dresser, Katie Hoelting, Grace Strella and Kailey Vitale.

Student Leadership Awards photos

Nancy Delgado was the recipient of the Kellyann Jones-Jamtgaard Commitment to Diversity Award. The award is given annually to recognize an individual's exceptional passion for diversity and leadership skills in this area. Delgado is a dedicated leader in the KU School of Medicine, working closely with the Office of Diversity and Inclusion to recruit new students through programs such as the Pre-Admissions Program and Health Sciences Enrichment Institute.

The KUMC Student Diversity Council was named the Outstanding Student Organization. This award is given each year to the organization that has taken on activities to fulfill its vision, along with the group's ability to work well internally and with other organizations. The organization must also have a positive effect on the medical center campus community and within the general community. The Student Diversity Council has been diligent over the years in ensuring a diverse and inclusive environment at KU Medical Center both inside and outside the classroom.

Ryan Gove, director of the KU Medical Center Office of Student Life, received the award as the Outstanding Student Organization Advisor for his role working with the annual KUMC Dance Marathon, which benefits the Children's Miracle Network hospitals. The award recognizes the person's involvement in their organization, the amount of guidance and support provided, and the ability to motivate the group's leaders.

Vusala Snyder garnered the KUMC Community Leader Award for her work as a leader of a community-based service organization. She has assisted immigrant women and children in meeting their health care needs, and provided translation and transportation services as well as lending general patient education resources. A third-year medical student, Snyder has served in several executive positions during her time at KU Medical Center.

Last modified: Jul 26, 2018