Skip to main content

Advisory Board

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board serves in an advisory capacity to the Center's Director. Board members’ duties include fundraising, public speaking, and other public relations activities to advance public awareness of successful adult, cord blood and related stem three cell therapeutic options.The Board is required to meet at least four times each year and will be authorized to meet upon the call of the chairperson.

The Center’s director serves as an ex officio member of the Board. Advisory Board members may serve for only three consecutive terms and its members will serve without compensation.The bill provides for Board vacancies and appointments of successor members.The Governor will appoint the Board chairperson.The Board is composed of 14 members along with Director Buddhadeb Dawn, M.D. Below are our current Advisory Board members:

Dr. Barohn

Richard J. Barohn, M.D.
Vice Chancellor Research
University of Kansas Medical Center


Dr. Cory Berkland

Cory Berkland, M.D.
School of Pharmacy
Solon E. Summerfield Distinguished Professor
University of Kansas

-Dr. Frank Blecha

Frank Blecha, M.D.
College of Veterinary Medicine
University Distingushed Professor
Associate Dean of Research
Kansas State University

Dr. Buddhadeb Dawn

Buddhadeb Dawn, M.D.
Maureen and Marvin Dunn Professor
Director, Midwest Stem Cell Therapy Center
Director, Division of Cardiovascular Diseases
University of Kansas Medical Center

Representative Dan Hawkins

Representative Dan Hawkins
Representative, State of Kansas
Chair, Health and Human Services
Vice Chair, Home and Community Based Services Oversight

Barbara MacAuthur

Barbara MacArthur, RN, MN, FAAN
Vice President of Cardiovascular Services
University of Kansas Hospital

Joseph McGuirk

Joseph McGuirk, DO
Professor of Medicine
Interim Division Director
Medical Director, Blood and Marrow Transplant
University of Kansas Medical Center

Seth Page

Seth J. Page, MD
Cancer Center of Kansas

Mary Pilcher-C--k

Senator Mary Pilcher-Cook
Senator, State of Kansas
Chair, Senate Public Health and Welfare Committee

David Prentice

David Prentice, Ph.D.
Chair, Midwest Stem Cell Therapy Center Advisory Board
Vice President and Research Director, Charlotte Lozier Institute
Adjunct Professor of Molecular Genetics, John Paul II Institute 
The Catholic University of America

Paul Wagle

Paul Wagle, MA
Manager, Mission Integration
Ascension Health

Scott Weir

Scott Weir, Pharm.D, Ph.D.
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology
Director, Institute for Advancing Medial Innovation, KUMC
Assoc Director, Translational Research, University of Kansas Cancer Center
Frank B. Tyler Cancer Research Professor in Therapeutic Discovery

Dana Winegarner

Dana Winegarner, DO


Last modified: Jul 26, 2018