Research Administrator Award

2017 Announcement (PDF)

The University of Kansas Medical Center Research Institute is pleased to announce the request for nominations recognizing an outstanding administrator for the Research Administrator Award.  The recipient of this award last year was Anne Arthur (Department of Neurology).

The Research Administrator Award recognizes and honors significant administrative support in the research or sponsored programs enterprise of University of Kansas Medical Center, at Kansas City, Salina, and Wichita.   The awards are made in conjunction with Faculty Research Day, on November 8, 2017 at KUMC Kansas City. Recipients of awards will be selected in advance and each will be recognized for their accomplishments as part of the Faculty Research Day activities.

Eligibility:  Any KUMC, Kansas City, Salina, or Wichita based department (basic or clinical), or School level classified or unclassified full time staff member who assists faculty in proposal development and/or post award grant management is eligible for this award. Nominees from KU Hospital and KUPI clinical research support staff, i.e., clinical trial nurses, clinical trial administrators, etc are also eligible. Staff members of the Research Institute are not eligible. Faculty members, scientists, research assistants or other personnel who are major contributors to the conduct of research are not eligible. In some cases, the research administrator may assist the research program, but the primary responsibility should be pre/post award management.

Research Administrator Awards ($350): It is possible that one or more awards could be made in each of the schools: Health Professions, Medicine (KC/Salina/Wichita) and Nursing.  Previous winners are not eligible.

Submission of Material: The committee strongly encourages nomination by Department Chairs, faculty or research committees. The nominating material should include:

  1. The candidate's employment history at KUMC;
  2. A one to two-page statement of the nominee's support of research. (This statement should be made by the nominator(s), and is of critical importance in facilitating the Committee's evaluation of the merits of the application);
  3. Three letters of support

These awards are given to research and/or sponsored programs support administrators who have contributed significant support to research and have a high potential for sustained productive research support in the future. Submissions will then be reviewed and ranked by the directors of the KUMC Research Institute with recommendations to the Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Administration for a final decision.

Please submit supporting documents in one electronic PDF to by 5:00 PM, Tuesday, August 1, 2017.
For questions or additional information contact Kelly Robertson at 913/588-5436,

2017 DEADLINE: Applications are due by 5:00 pm, Tuesday, August 1, 2017.


Previous Awardees

Carol Anderson, Hearing and Speech
Helen Ilc, Preventive Medicine
Rosa Meagher, Pharmacology

Priscilla Reckling, Nursing
Mary Walker, Center for Environmental and Occupational Health

Jennifer N. French, Hoglund Brain Imaging Center
Elizabeth Jenkins, Microbiology, Molecular Genetics and Immunology
Loretta Jenkins, Parkinson's Disease and Movement Disorder Center

Frederick P. Achen, BSCS, School of Nursing
Heiata Chapman, Anatomy and Cell Biology
Pat Laubinger, MPA, BSN, Alzheimer and Memory Program

Joanne McNair, Preventive Medicine & Public Health
Lori Wade, External Affairs

Saunny Jordan, MBA, Institute of Molecular and Outcomes Medicine and the Kidney Institute
Lori O'Neal, School of Nursing
Cody Tully, MBA, Pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutics

Karen Davis, Research - Wichita Kidney Institute
Justine Karungi, Hoglund Brain Imaging Center
Anne Rowe, Microbiology, Molecular Genetics and Immunology
Teresa Stenner, National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators

Megan Parks, Center for Biostatistics and Advanced Informatics

Linda Schuck, Behavioral Pediatrics

Susan Harp, Cancer Center
Shari Standiferd, Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Dwayne Boettcher, Health Professions               Anca Geana, KU Cancer Center                          Laura Herbelin, Neurology

Steven Fennel, Enterprise

Anne Arthur, Neurology

Last modified: Jun 22, 2017