Skip to main content

RI Staff Listing

Research Institute Executive Office

Richard J. Barohn, M.D.
rbarohn@kumc.edu
913-588-1698
Vice Chancellor for Research, University of Kansas Medical Center
President, University of Kansas Medical Center Research Institute
Jamie Caldwell, MBA
jcaldwell4@kumc.edu
913-588-5436
Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Administration, Executive Director - KUMC Research Institute, Inc.
Oversees all Research Institute operations.
Vacant Chief Financial Officer
Oversees all Financial Services operations
Kelly Robertson
krobertson@kumc.edu
913-588-5436
Executive Assistant to Jamie Caldwell
Rebecca Lausman
rlausman@kumc.edu
913-945-6668
Finance Assistant to CFO

Human Resources

Kimberly Barskdale
kbarksdale@kumc.edu
913-588-2186
Fax: 913-945-9171
Deputy Director, Human Resources and Corporate Secretary
DelReese Mays
dmays@kumc.edu
913-945-9172
Fax: 913-945-9171
Human Resources Coordinator - Benefits and Administrative Services
Jennifer Muniz
jmuniz@kumc.edu
913-574-0483
Fax: 913-945-9171
Human Resources Coordinator - Payroll and Account Services

Office of Legal Affairs

Peter Griffith
pgriffith@kumc.edu
913-588-3082
Corporate Counsel and Deputy Director of Legal Affairs
Negotiates, reviews and advises on all grants and contracts for research, oversees the Contract Office and reports directly to the Executive Director.
Donna Palatas
dpalatas@kumc.edu
913-588-5448
Legal Specialist II
Assists in the review of contracts and agreements for all areas of the Research Institute.
Chad O'Neill
coneill5@kumc.edu
913-588-2049
Legal Specialist I
Assists in the review of contracts and agreements for all areas of the Research Institute.
Laura Irick
l.irick@ku.edu
785-864-7403
Industry Legal Specialist
Morgan Smotherman
msmotherman@kumc.edu
913-588-5362
Legal Administrator

Research Communications and Education

Mary Hindle
mhindle2@kumc.edu
913-588-1242
Training and Education Manager

Budgets and Contracts

Ecy Bullock
ebullock@kumc.edu
913-588-5763
Director, Budgets and Contracts

April Leslie, BA
aleslie2@kumc.edu
913-588-3665
Clinical Trials Contracts Associate I
Prepare, develop and negotiate clinical trial budgets and contracts.
Cheryl Shorter
cshorter2@kumc.edu
913-588-2617
Clinical Trials Contracts Associate I
Prepare, develop and negotiate clinical trial budgets and contracts.
Vacant Clinical Trials Contracts Associate I
Prepare, develop and negotiate clinical trial budgets and contracts.
Vacant Clinical Trials Contracts Associate I
Prepare, develop and negotiate clinical trial budgets and contracts.

CRA - Regulatory Management

Kevin Smilor, MBA, CCRP
ksmilor@kumc.edu
913-588-3230
Director of Regulatory and Clinical Data Management, Clinical Research Administration
Responsible for Quality Assurance, Budget and Research Audit Services, supervises Clinical Trial Project Managers.
Jeanna Julo, BA, BA, CCRP
jjulo@kumc.edu
913-945-6861
Assistant Director, Clinical Data Management & Quality Controls (Auditing & Training)
Train and educate staff. Collect and review clinical research administration data. Audit internal procedures to monitor compliance with federal, state and local regulations and policies.
Lindsey Atchity, BS, CCRP
latchity@kumc.edu 
913-588-5238
Senior Clinical Trials Project Manager
Study project manager, prepares consents and regulatory documents, amendments and recertifications, submits items to local IRB.
Jessica Cosby
jcosby@kumc.edu
913-588-8831
Clinical Trials Project Manager I
Study project manager, prepares consents and regulatory documents, amendments and recertifications, submits items to local IRB.
Meagan Borozinski
mborozinski@kumc.edu
913-588-2048
Clinical Trials Project Manager I
Study project manager, prepares consents and regulatory documents, amendments and recertifications, submits items to local IRB.
Kathy Jurius
kjurius@kumc.edu
913-588-5705
Clinical Trials Project Manager I
Study project manager, prepares consents and regulatory documents, amendments and recertifications, submits items to local IRB.
Chris Bessmer
cbessmer@kumc.edu
913-588-6092
Clinical Trials Project Manager I
Study project manager, prepares consents and regulatory documents, amendments and recertifications, submits items to local IRB.
Anita Williams
awilliams30@kumc.edu
913-588-8830
Clinical Trials Project Manager I
Study project manager, prepares consents and regulatory documents, amendments and recertifications, submits items to local IRB.
Vacant Clinical Trials Project Manager I
Study project manager, prepares consents and regulatory documents, amendments and recertifications, submits items to local IRB.
Vacant Clinical Trials Project Manager I
Study project manager, prepares consents and regulatory documents, amendments and recertifications, submits items to local IRB.

Sponsored Programs Administration

SPA Pre-Award Main Office/General Inquiry Contact
Location: Suite 1260

spa@kumc.edu
913-588-1261
Deborah Maloney
dmaloney@kumc.edu
913-588-6570
Director
Oversees all Pre-Award & Post-Award Functions
Katie Knight
kknight3@kumc.edu
913-945-6012
Assistant Director
Assists with oversight on all Pre-Award Functions
Diana Weber
dweber4@kumc.edu
913-588-5370
Assistant Director
Assists with oversight on all Post-Award Functions

SPA Pre-Award Staff
spa@kumc.edu

Kate Livgren
klivgren@kumc.edu
913-945-7778
Grant Administrator I
Rita Suarez
rsuarez@kumc.edu
913-588-5724
Grant Administrator I
Todd Carter
tcarter6@kumc.edu
913-588-5717
Grant Administrator I
Jenna Ridge
jridge@kumc.edu
913-588-0082
Grant Administrator I

SPA Post-Award Staff
spa-post@kumc.edu

Doug Harris
dharris2@kumc.edu
913-588-1260
Grant Administrator II
Matt Morgan
mmorgan6@kumc.edu
913-588-1239
Senior Grant Administrator
Reggie Foster
rfoster6@kumc.edu
913-945-8940
Grant Administrator I
Dinyelle Baker
dbaker11@kumc.edu
913-588-0078
Grant Administrator I

SPA Contracts Staff
spacontracts@kumc.edu

Michael Albright
malbright2@kumc.edu
913-588-5369
Grant & Contract Specialist II
Kathryn Einsel
keinsel@kumc.edu
913-588-1249
Grant & Contract Specialist I

Click Here for SPA Staff Assignments

Controller's Office

Ashlee Fishback
afishback@kumc.edu
913-588-5749
Controller
Oversees financial accounting functions and purchasing
Ronda Hornick
rhornick@kumc.edu
913-588-1264
Assistant Controller
General Ledger and Cash Management Activities
Andrew Thao
athao@kumc.edu
913-588-1492
Accounts Payable Specialist I
Rebecca Nunn
rnunn@kumc.edu
913-588-8054
Accounts Payable Specialist I
Cherrelle Jarrett
cheryl04@kumc.edu
913-588-5368
Accounts Payable Specialist I

Please send all A/P Inquiry Requests to:
RINSTAP@kumc.edu

Revenue and Funds Management

Elena Cruse
ecruse@kumc.edu
913-588-5361
Assistant Director
Lori Brinkmeyer
lbrinkmeyer@kumc.edu
913-588-1448
Senior Financial Business Analyst
Shawnette Robinson, MA
srobinson8@kumc.edu
913-945-6956
Senior Financial Business Analyst
Trenae Baker
tbaker6@kumc.edu
913-588-5748
Financial Business Analyst I
Lisa Hetrick
lisahetrick@kumc.edu
913-574-0505
Financial Business Analyst I

Division of Systems and Data Analysis

Frank Visconti
fvisconti@kumc.edu
913-588-5710
Director
Robert Pavitt
rpavitt@kumc.edu
913-588-1281
Systems Administrator
Last modified: Jun 29, 2018
ID=x28572