Postdoctoral Advisory Committee

Postdoctoral Advisory Committee

The Postdoctoral Advisory Committee at the University of Kansas Medical Center is composed of postdoctoral scholars, faculty, and staff.  The committee serves the KUMC postdoctoral community by:

  • Providing advice and feedback to the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs on policies and programming
  • Helping with institutional buy-in and leveraging resources
  • Initiating novel policy, program, and service directions in response to administrative and postdoctoral scholar feedback
  • Investigating the best ways to implement new ideas for the betterment of the postdoctoral community
  • Helping the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs problem solve
  • Supporting and representing postdoctoral interests in the university community

The committee meets quarterly, and works collaboratively via email and between quarterly meetings as needed to meet goals and address issues.  If you would like to learn more or contac the committee, please email or call 913-588-2369.

Postdoctoral Advisory Committee Roster

Danny Welch, PhD Chair, Cancer Biology Committee Facculty Chair, Faculty Representative
Irina Aris Assistant Director, Office of International Programs International Programs Representative
Yomna Badawi, PhD Postdoctoral Scholar, Anatomy & Cell Biology Postdoctoral Representative
Richard Barohn, MD Vice Chancelor for Research Vice Chancelor for Research
Jeffrey Bose, PhD Assistant Professor, Microbiology, Molecular Genetics & Immunology Faculty Representative
Pavla Brachova, PhD Postdoctoral Scholar, Molecular & Integrative Physiology Postdoctoral Representative
David Bundy, PhD Postdoctoral Scholar, Rehabilitation Medicine Postdoctoral Representative
Ashley Carlson Assistant Director, Office of Postdoctoral Affairs Office of Postdoctoral Affairs
Susan Carlson, PhD Professor, Dietetics & Nutrition Faculty Representative
Hemant Chavan, PhD Postdoctoral Scholar, Pharmacology, Toxicology & Therapeutics Postdoctoral Representative
Kimberly Connelly Director, Office of International Programs International Programs Representative
Andrew Godwin, PhD Professor, Pathology & Laboratory Medicine Faculty Representative
Robert Klein, PhD Vice Chancelor for Academic Affairs, Dean of Graduate Studies Vice Chancelor for Academic Affairs
Albert Buddy Poje, PhD Associate Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences Faculty Representative
Robert Rogers, PhD Postdoctoral Scholar, Anatomy & Cell Biology Postdoctoral Representative 
Stacey Snakenberg Director of Operations, Human Resources Human Resources Representative
Shari Standiferd Director of Operations, Molecular & Integrative Physiology Administrator Representative
Russell Swerdlow, MD Professor, Neurology, Alzheimer's Disease Center Faculty Representative
Cynthia Teel, PhD, RN, FAAN Professor, School of Nursing Faculty Representative
Rebecca Wates, PhD Postdoctoral Scholar, Pathology & Laboratory Medicine Postdoctoral Representative
Mike Werle, PhD Dean, Postdoctoral Affairs & Graduate Studies Dean, Postdoctoral Affairs & Graduate Studies
Heather Wilkins, PhD Postdoctoral Scholar, Neurology Postdoctoral Representative


Upcoming Postdoctoral Advisory Committee Meeting Dates:

  • January 26, 2017, 11:00-12:00
  • April 20, 2017, 11:00-12:00
  • July 20, 2017, 11:00-12:00
  • October 26, 2017, 11:00-12:00
Last modified: Nov 03, 2016