Faculty Assembly Steering Committee

Faculty Assembly Steering Committee (FASC)

As outlined in the bylaws for faculty governance at KUMC (p. 15-16 in the Faculty Handbook), the Faculty Affairs Steering Committee shall be composed of 10 members. The committee will consist of three elected tenured or tenure-track members of the assembly (one from each school), the chairperson of the Faculty Council of the School of Medicine, the chairpersons of the Steering Committees of the School of Nursing and the School of Health Professions, and the chairpersons of other standing committees of the assembly: Election, Faculty Concerns, Information Resources, and Research. The Executive Vice Chancellor or designee and the Steering Committee Representative to the Executive Vice Chancellor's Diversity and Inclusion Cabinet will be ex officio members (non-voting). A chair and chairelect will serve the committee; the chair will serve for one year and the chair-elect will serve as chair in the following term. The chair and chair-elect positions will rotate sequentially from the elected at-large representatives of the School of Medicine to the School of Nursing to the School of Health Professions.

The FASC committee members for 2016-2017 are outlined below.



Term Ends

Past FASC Chair

Patricia Kluding (SHP)


Current FASC Chair

Ellen McCarthy (SOM)


FASC Chair-Elect

David Martin (SON)


Elections Chair

Mary Meyer (SON)


Research Chair

Jill Peltzer (SON)


Information Resources Chair

Eve-Lynn Nelson (SOM)


Faculty Concerns Chair

Jeanne Schott (SON)


SHP Steering Chair

Mark Chertoff (SHP)


SON Steering Chair

Karen Wambach (SON)


SOM Steering Chair

David Duchenne (SOM)


Representative from EVC Diversity and Inclusion Cabinet

Irina Smirnova (SHP)


Standing Committees

Additional information on the Standing Committees (membership, reports, minutes, etc.) can be found via the links on the right side of the page.

Contact Us

Questions or concerns may be emailed to us by clicking here or by submitting a comment using the online form.

Ellen McCarthy, MD
Faculty Assembly Committee Chair
Office: (913) 588-6048

Jenny Memmott, MME
Executive Officer for Academic Affairs & Graduate Studies and Administrative Support for Faculty Assembly
Office: (913) 588-1381

Last modified: Mar 31, 2017
Faculty Assembly

Faculty Assembly

  • Fall meeting: November 29, 2016, 3:30-5:00pm, Wahl Hall West
  • Spring meeting: April 12, 2017, 3:00-4:30pm, G013 SON
  • Agendas/Minutes

Standing Committees

Questions or concerns may be emailed to us by clicking here or by submitting a comment using the online form.

KUMC Handbook for Faculty (PDF)