Faculty Award for Scholarship in Community Engagement

This award recognizes KU Medical Center faculty for excellence in developing, implementing and sustaining regional engaged scholarship initiatives. 

Community engagement, according to the Carnegie Classification Project (McCormick & Zhao, 2005), "describes the collaboration between higher education institutions and their larger communities (local, regional/state, national, global) for the mutually beneficial exchange of knowledge and resources in a context of partnership and reciprocity." Piercy, Stoudt, Asselin and Tilley-Lubbs (2011) provide additional clarification regarding work that is worthy of this award in their white paper, noting that "Characteristics most associated with engaged scholarship include:

  • A partnership between university and community groups;
  • Which is reciprocal;
  • Mutually beneficial;
  • Respectful;
  • Transparent;
  • Replicable; and
  • Publically accountable;
  • Hierarchy is minimized;
  • Teaching, research, and/or service takes place;
  • Impact is assessed and documented; and
  • Scholarship is an integral component."

Nomination Process - please check back later in the year for details.


Last modified: Nov 12, 2014
Award Winners

2014: A. Paula Cupertino, Ph.D., Assistant Professor in Preventive Medicine

2013: Christine Daley, Ph.D., Associate Professor in Family Medicine

At a Glance

Shield icon

Award Amount: $7,500

Questions? Contact
April Blackmon Strange
(913) 588-2695