Alumni Spotlight

We are pleased to shine a spotlight on our outstanding alumni.

Luther Fry

Luther Fry, MD'67, was named as one of three Humanitarians of the Year by Governor Brownback and Lieutenant Governor Colyer. Dr. Fry of Garden City is an ophthalmologist who has provided extensive charity care, ensuring none of his patients have been denied eye care because of their inability to pay. Congratulations, Dr. Fry! Read more

julie larson

Julie Larson, MD, R'16, has a passion for working with children with disabilities. She recently wrote a book titled I Have A Doll Just Like You that helps explain amputation and limb deficiency to children. In addition to the fictional story, it contains a "letter to parents/teachers" about how to react in situations when children point, stare and/or ask about someone who looks different than they do. Proceeds from Dr. Larson's book will be donated to send children with limb differences to amputee camps. 

Nico Tejeda

Congratulations to Nicholas Tejeda, MHSA'07, who was named the Young Healthcare Executive of the Year by the American College of Healthcare Executives. Read more. Congrats, Nico!

Tammy Kielian

Tammy Kielian, PhD'98, professor in the University of Nebraska Medical Center Department of Pathology and Microbiology, has been named the 11th UNMC Scientist Laureate. This is the highest honor UNMC bestows to researchers and Dr. Kielian is described as a "spark" who is passionate about research. Read more

Oneita Taylor

Oneita Taylor, MD'81, FACR, was granted the designation of Fellow of the American College of Radiology during the Convocation ceremony held in Washington DC on May 15, 2016. According to the American College of Radiology, one of the highest honors the ACR can bestow on a member is recognition as a fellow of the ACR.  Fellows demonstrate a history of service to the College, organized medicine, teaching or research.  Approximately 10% of ACR members achieve this distinction. Congratulations, Dr. Taylor!                                                                   

Barbara Holcomb

Maj. Gen. Barbara Holcomb took the reins at Fort Detrick in Maryland as the first female installation commander this summer. Holcomb comes to Fort Detrick as the first nurse to serve as commander of the medical command, according to spokeswoman Chelsea Bauckman. Holcomb previously served as a deputy commanding general at the U.S. Army Medical Command at Joint Base San Antonio. Read more

Donna Sweet

Donna Sweet, MD'79, received the first honorary doctorate that Wichita State University has given in 27 years. She also received the university's President's Medal and delivered the fall commencement address. "It is not overstating the matter to say that Dr. Sweet has changed the world with her scholarship and her heart," WSU President John Bardo said in announcing the honors. "Her outstanding achievements and visionary leadership in the battle against AIDS make her an excellent recipient of this award." Read more.

Robert Gibbs

Robert C. Gibbs, MD'98, has been selected as president-elect of the Kansas Medical Society (KMS), a two-year pathway to becoming the organization's president. Dr. Gibbs is the medical director of radiology at Labette Health.  Dr. Gibbs has been a member of the KMS since 1994.

Dee Leman

Dee Leman, OT'92, has been appointed the National Director of Rehabilitation Services for the Goodman Group. In her new role, Leman will oversee all Rehabilitation Services offered at The Goodman Group's managed senior living and healthcare communities, including physical, occupational and speech therapy, and will collaborate on restorative therapies. Leman has more than 25 years of experience in Rehabilitation Services. Read more

Janet Houser

Janet Houser, PhD, MN'81, was named Provost at Regis University in Colorado. She will oversee five colleges serving over 11,000 students. Dr. Houser joined the Regis Health Service Administration faculty in 2000 and advanced through several leadership roles before being named provost. Congratulations, Janet!
View article


Robert Olm-Shipman, MHSA'02, was named CEO of the Saint Luke's South Hospital. He has been with Saint Luke's for 13 years and has a strong record of exceptional leadership and a wealth of experience in strategic planning and organizational efficiency. He was previously the vice president for planning and project management for Saint Luke's Health System. His new role begins on September 8, 2015. Read more

Maureen Murphy

Maureen E. Murphy, MD'85, started her career in journalism and later discovered her calling to family medicine. She changed career paths, went to medical school and eventually became a leader in the field of family medicine. Throughout her almost 30 years of practice, she touched the lives of nearly 200 residents and more than 1,000 medical students. Many have chosen careers in family medicine as a result of her passion and enthusiasm for the specialty. Read more

Would you like to be featured or do you know a KUMC alum who would be a great candidate for the Alumni Spotlight? Please email us at

Last modified: Mar 09, 2017