Skip to main content

Alumni Relations

Alumni > Alumni Awards > 2018 Alumni Award Recipients

2018 Alumni Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2018 Alumni Award recipients! You can view more information about each award recipient by clicking on his or her name below. It was an honor to celebrate all of their achievements during the Alumni Awards Luncheon on October 5, 2018. View photos from the event.

Lisa VanHoose

Early Career Achievement in Health Professions Alumna
Lisa D. VanHoose, PhD'11, MPH'15, PT
Assistant Professor, Department of Physical Therapy
University of Central Arkansas

Thomas Pazdernik headshot

Honorary Health Professions Alumnus
Thomas L. Pazdernik, PhD
Professor Emeritus, Department of Pharmacology, Toxicology & Therapeutics, School of Medicine
Professor Emeritus, Nurse Anesthesia Education, School of Health Professions
University of Kansas Medical Center

Mary Ann Romski headshot

Distinguished Health Professions Alumna
Mary Ann Romski, PhD'81, CCC-SLP
Regents Professor, Departments of Communication, Psychology, and Communication Sciences & Disorders
Georgia State University 

Nicholas Tejeda

Early Career Achievement in Medicine Alumnus
Nicholas R. Tejeda, MHSA'07, FACHE
Market Chief Executive Officer
The Hospitals of Providence, El Paso, Texas

Giulia Bonaminio

Honorary Medical Alumna
Giulia A. Bonaminio, PhD
Associate Dean for Medical Education
Director, Office of Medical Education
Research Professor, Dept. of Family Medicine
KU School of Medicine
University of Kansas Medical Center

James McCarthy

Distinguished Medical Alumnus
James T. McCarthy, MD'77, FACP, FASN
Emeritus Professor and Chairman, Division of Nephrology & Hypertension, Dept. of Internal Medicine
Mayo Clinic

Cara Busenhart

Early Career Achievement in Nursing Alumna
Cara A. Busenhart, PhD'14, CNM
Clinical Assistant Professor, School of Nursing
Program Director, Advanced Practice and Nurse-Midwifery
University of Kansas Medical Center

Noreen Thompson

Honorary Nursing Alumna
Noreen C. Thompson, APRN, PMHCNS-BC
Psychiatric Clinical Nurse Specialist, The University of Kansas Health System
Clinical Assistant Professor, KU School of Nursing
University of Kansas Medical Center

Moya Peterson

Distinguished Nursing Alumna
Moya Peterson, PhD'06, APRN, FNP-BC
Director, Adults with Down Syndrome Specialty Clinic, The University of Kansas Health System
Clinical Associate Professor, School of Nursing & School of Medicine
University of Kansas Medical Center





Last modified: Feb 11, 2019