2017 KUMC Alumni Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2017 Alumni Award Recipients! This year's awardees have given so much to the University of Kansas Medical Center, their communities and the health care profession. We were thrilled to celebrate their achievements during the Alumni Awards Lunch on October 6.

View the full list of award recipients below and learn more by clicking on each awardee's name. We also invite you to view photos and watch the video from the event. The KUMC Alumni Association is now accepting nominations for the 2018 Alumni Awards.  

2017 Alumni Awards Video
(click to play)


Sean Tucker

Early Career Achievement in Health Professions Alumnus 
Sean M. Tucker, CLS'07, MLS(ASCP), MBA
Manager of Limited Service Laboratories 
Children's Mercy Hospital

Cassie Birnbaum

Distinguished Health Professions Alumna
Cassi L. Birnbaum, HIM'79, MS, RHIA, CPHQ, FAHIMA 
System-Wide Director HIM and Revenue Integrity 
University of California San Diego Health System

Eric Halsey

Early Career Achievement in Medicine Alumnus
Eric S. Halsey, MD'99, FIDSA
Captain, U.S. Public Health Service
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
U.S. President's Malaria Initiative

Carol Lindsley

Honorary Medical Alumna
Carol B. Lindsley, MD
Professor, Pediatrics 
Division Chief, Pediatric Rheumatology 
University of Kansas Medical Center

Barney Graham

Distinguished Medical Alumnus
Barney S. Graham, MD'79, PhD
Deputy Director, Vaccine Research Center 
National Institutes of Health

Jerrihlyn McGee

Early Career Achievement in Nursing Alumna
Jerrihlyn L. McGee, DNP'14, RN, CNE
Program Director, Leadership 
Clinical Assistant Professor 
University of Kansas Medical Center

David Zmaierowski

Honorary Nursing Alumnus
David S. Zamierowski, MD, FACS
Co-Founder, Zamierowski Institute for Experiential Learning 
Advisor for Simulation Project 
University of Kansas Medical Center

Marge Bott

Distinguished Nursing Alumna
Marge J. Bott, PhD'01, RN
Associate Dean, Research 
University of Kansas Medical Center

Last modified: Oct 12, 2017