Skip to main content

Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Award

The Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Award is intended to recognize and reward demonstrated teaching ability of a clearly superlative nature. The award will be given to paid (non-volunteer) faculty member who contribute to the University and its students through excellence and outstanding classroom teaching. Classroom teaching is defined it its broadest sense to include educational activities in various settings and to a variety of learners in the three schools and the graduate and undergraduate programs at the medical center. Faculty may be nominated by a student or faculty member. Nominations are not open for KUMC faculty who have previously received the award. Preference will be given to early to mid-career faculty members.

Each award winner receives a one-time monetary award of $1,000. Questions about this award should be directed to Jenny Memmott, Director of Career and Professional Affairs, Office of Academic and Student Affairs.

2018 KUMC Winners

L-R: Robert Klein, PhD; Jill Peltzer, PhD, APRN-CNS; Catherine Satterwhite, PhD, MSPH, MPH; Mark Meyer, MD; Leigh Eck, MD; Robert Simari, MD

2018 Recipients

Recipient Department
Leigh Eck, MD Endocrinology, Metabolism and Genetics, Internal Medicine, SOM
Mark Meyer, MD Family Medicine, SOM
Jill Peltzer, PhD, APRN-CNS School of Nursing

Catherine Satterwhite, PhD, MSPH, MPH

Preventive Medicine and Public Health, SOM
Thomas Yankee, PharmD, PhD
Microbiology, Molecular Genetics and Immunology (posthumous, no monetary award)

Past Winners of the Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Award


Nominations for the Chancellor's Club Distinguished Teaching Award are open and are due Friday, May 17, 2019

Faculty members with demonstrated excellence in teaching while at KUMC may be nominated by a colleague, student, or alumnus. Each nomination must include:

  1. Nomination letter summarizing the faculty member's
    • Worthiness for receiving this award;
    • Formal teaching responsibilities; and
    • Voluntary additional teaching (for example, interdepartmental, multi-school) if any;
  2. Nominee's curriculum vitae, indicating reception of other teaching awards, if any;
  3. Copies of past formal evaluations of the nominee's teaching made by students and residents; and
  4. Evaluations by faculty peers.

Additional letters in support of the nomination are not required but are recommended. A maximum of five recommendation/support letters will be accepted. Nominations must be submitted by Friday, May 3, 2019, and directed to the attention of Jenny Memmott, Director of Career and Professional Affairs, Office of Academic and Student Affairs, 5015 Wescoe, Mail Stop 4009, University of Kansas Medical Center, 3901 Rainbow Boulevard, Kansas City, Kansas 66160. Nominations may also be received in PDF format and sent to

Winners will be recognized at the KU-Lawrence Teaching Summit in August 2019 and at the KUMC Faculty Development Summit in Fall 2019.

Last modified: May 03, 2019