Skip to main content

Faculty Assembly Steering Committee

Faculty Assembly Steering Committee (FASC)

As outlined in the bylaws for faculty governance at KUMC (p. 15-16 in the Faculty Handbook), the Faculty Affairs Steering Committee shall be composed of 10 members. The committee will consist of three elected tenured or tenure-track members of the assembly (one from each school), the chairperson of the Faculty Council of the School of Medicine, the chairpersons of the Steering Committees of the School of Nursing and the School of Health Professions, and the chairpersons of other standing committees of the assembly: Election, Faculty Concerns, Information Resources, and Research. The Executive Vice Chancellor or designee and the Steering Committee Representative to the Executive Vice Chancellor's Diversity and Inclusion Cabinet will be ex officio members (non-voting). A chair and chair-elect will serve the committee; the chair will serve for one year and the chair-elect will serve as chair in the following term. The chair and chair-elect positions will rotate sequentially from the elected at-large representatives of the School of Medicine to the School of Nursing to the School of Health Professions.

The FASC committee members for 2019-2020 are outlined below.



Term Ends

Past FASC Chair

Debra Sullivan (SHP)


Current FASC Chair

Brenda Salley (SOM)


FASC Chair-Elect

Kelly Bosak (SHP)


Elections Chair

Breah Chambers (SON)


Research Chair

Karen Wambach (SON)


Information Resources Chair

Udayan Apte (SOM)


Faculty Concerns Chair



SHP Steering Chair

Hao Zhu (SHP)


SON Steering Chair

Sharon Kumm (SON)


SOM Steering Chair

Peter DiPasco (SOM)


Representative from EVC Diversity and Inclusion Cabinet

Jerrihlyn McGee (SON)


Standing Committees

Additional information on the Standing Committees (membership, reports, minutes, etc.) can be found via the links on the right side of the page.

Contact Us

Questions or concerns may be emailed to us by clicking here or by submitting a comment using the online form.

Brenda Salley
Faculty Assembly Committee Chair
Office: (913) 945-7944

Sydney Breakfield
Coordinator, Office of Career & Professional Affairs/Office of Faculty Affairs
Office: (913) 588-5237

Last modified: Sep 11, 2019
Faculty Assembly

Faculty Assembly

  • Fall meeting: November 21, 2019, 3:30-5:00pm, Wahl West Auditorium (Wahl Hall West 1006)
  • Spring meeting: April 22, 2020, 3:30-5:00pm, Clendening Auditorium (Robinson 2004)
  • Agendas/Minutes

Standing Committees

Questions or concerns may be emailed to us by clicking here or by submitting a comment using the online form.

KUMC Handbook for Faculty (PDF)
KUMC Volunteer Faculty Manual (PDF)