Faculty Assembly

Faculty Assembly Steering Committee (FASC)

2014/2015 Academic Year

Committee Name/NumberTerm Ends
Term Ends
Term Ends
Elections - 6
(faculty from all schools)
Michael Rapoff (SOM) Rebecca Opole (SOM) Mary Meyer (SON)
Winnie Dunn (SHP) Wendy Hildenbrand (SHP) Jo Wick (SOM)
Steering1 - 10
(3 elected, tenured or tenure track members - one from each school))
David Naylor (SOM) Sandra Bergquist-Beringer (SON) Patricia Kluding (SHP)
Research2 - 7
(3 elected, tenured or tenure track members)
Hao Zhu (SHP) Ann Davis (SOM) Jill Peltzer (SON)
Information Resources3 - 9
(at least 4 tenured, at least one from SOM, SHP, SON)
David Becker (SOM)

Tomas Griebling (SOM)

Eve-Lynn Nelson (SOM)

Stephen Lauer (SOM) Karen Wambach (SON) Aroop Pal (SOM)
Marc Fey (SHP) Irina Smirnova (SHP) Stephen Williamson (SOM)
Faculty Concerns4 - 9
(2 tenured or tenure track members from SOM, SON, SHP & 3 faculty-at-large, including one from SOM-W)
Garold Minns (SOM-W) Doug Wright (SOM)

Martha (Martye) Barnard (SOM)

Jeanne Schott (SON) Ryan Schroeder (SOM-W) Allen Rawitch (SOM)
John Ferraro (SHP) Patricia Kluding (SHP) Wanda Bonnel (SON)

Note: Faculty whose names are in bold are committee chairpersons.
Source document is the Handbook for Faculty and Unclassified Staff Section II.
1Other committee members include the Chairs of the Steering Committees of SHP and SoN, the Chair of the Faculty Council of SoM, and the Chairs of other KUMC Faculty Assembly Steering Committees. The EVC or designee serves as an ex officio member (non-voting).
2Other committee members include the Chairs of the Research Committees of the SHP, SoM-KC, SoM-W, and SoN. The Chair of the Research Advisory Council serves as an ex officio members (non-voting).
3The Associate Vice Chancellor for Information Resources, the Director of the Library, and the Chief Information Officer of the hospital serve as ex officio members (non-voting).
4The Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and the Vice Chancellor for Administration serve as ex-officio members (non-voting)

Standing Committee Minutes

For all questions, concerns or comments please contact us:

  • facultyassembyconcerns@kumc.edu is the new global concerns email account.
  • Sandra Bergquist-Beringer, RN, PhD, Faculty Assembly Committee Chair
  • Alana Smith, Executive Assistant for the Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs and Admn Support for Faculty Assembly


Last modified: Dec 12, 2014
Faculty Assembly

Spring Meeting
April 20, 2015
4:00 pm to 5:30 pm
KUMC Campus: SON G013
Salina Campus: Salina Board Room
Wichita Campus: Santa Fe Room

Policies for Review

Report of the University of Kansas Bi-Campus Committee on Patent Ownership and Faculty Consultation

We would like University faculty review of and comments on the above report with particular focus on pages 1-5. These pages list options and recommendations for faculty consultation proposed by a bi-campus faculty consultation committee that was appointed last year by the Vice Chancellors for Research on the KU Lawrence (Steve Warren) and Kansas City (Paul Terranova) campuses. Please use the online form to submit your comments on these options and recommendations. The comment period will end February 13th.

Other concerns may be emailed to us at facultyassemblyconcerns@kumc.edu.

Handbook for Faculty and Other Unclassified Staff (PDF)